Day Job vs. My Passion (s)

By Katie Boucher (@kteb)

I guess we all know what my day job is since I am writing on the SLICE blog, but I’ll say it anyway; I’m a PR junkie. My passions, however, are much different. I have many passions, but two in particular that are above and beyond the rest.

My passions are entirely different (kind of) from one another and have certainly evolved with time. As I am new here, no one will likely understand this passion yet, but soon enough you will. The husband of my old colleague, cdog, who I blog about food with here, said this about me and my musical ability: “Kteb can turn any sentence, or thought into a song. She sings everything.” Sidenote: kteb is my Twitter handle and my identity virtually everywhere.

When I was a young gal, for summer vacations my family made roadtrips to Massachusetts from South Carolina. We’d pack up the van at the crack of dawn and up the coast we’d go. It was a long ride, so when I wasn’t sleeping, I was singing. I sang everything on the radio. I sang while we were at the rest stops. I sang while we played License Plate Bingo or the Billboard Alphabet game.

The problem (I don’t view this as a problem) was that I didn’t always know every word to every song, and my brother called me out on it. He thought it would deter me from singing when he said, “If you don’t know the words, don’t sing the song.” Challenge accepted! I quickly learned the words to every song possible.

From that day on, the first thing I did with a new CD was pull out the booklet and start memorizing the lyrics. I spent hours in my room on my bean bag learning No Doubt’s Tragic Kingdom, Mariah Carey’s Daydream and Butterfly albums, Christina Aguilera’s Genie in a Bottle, Mandy Moore, N*Sync and any CD I could get my hands on. I showed my brother, and he couldn’t say anything about it. I found joy in being able to sing every word of every top 40 song. Nowadays, I quickly learn the words to songs and still sing along. I have learned to appreciate the music now, and I actually listen sometimes, instead of sing. Sidenote: My favorite band is Dave Matthews Band. I’ve been to so many shows, I’ve lost count. However, as I previously mentioned, music isn’t my only passion.

Photography is my other passion; though sometimes I incorporate the two, singing while photographing. I started off with a small digital camera just snapping away at everything. I would take pictures of the things everyone else wasn’t taking pictures of. I was taking pictures of the underside of a statue looking up towards the sky, or I would get super close to something so it blurred everything else around it. For my birthday in December, I received a Nikon D3100 (and an additional lens), with which I am obsessed.

I had no idea what I was doing when I started, and I still don’t, but I love it. I love being able to capture a moment or scene to have forever, and be able to say, “I took that”. I’m a fan of black and white photography, and I enjoy nature shots. One day I hope to take this passion and turn it into cash money by opening my own photography business/studio. If you’re interested… http://kteb2.shutterfly.com/. Thanks for listening to me gush about what I love to do.

What’s your passion? Shopping? Juggling? Playing an instrument? Stalking people on Facebook? Maybe you shouldn’t tell us if you are passionate about the last one.

1 Response to “Day Job vs. My Passion (s)”


  1. 1 Casper-Ski April 4, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Is “Party in the USA” one of your 40 songs? Because you should totally sing that for the office. I’m sure your new collegues will agree :-)


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

