I Work With My Friends, Not My Colleagues

I have had a huge smile on my face all day. That has been due to the fact that I just got engaged to a boy that I am absolutely crazy about, and because I got to share it with all my friends at SHIFT. Before you stop reading this, thinking it’s a little too schmaltzy, let me just remind you that finding a workplace where you really like the people, and get excited to share big news with them is exceptionally rare.

So, I got into work today with the idea that I would trick my friends into noticing the ring by showing them my new manicure (any woman reading this, knows it’s a must as soon as you get engaged). Well, that didn’t go over too well, as Mandy and Audrey just started commenting, “Oh that’s such a nice color of pink!” and Alex started explaining to me his own manicure experience this week…I was like, “Hellooo” before I got any huge hugs, or “Oh my gosh!”

Following this, my friend Jen got so excited that she called Adam at work to congratulate him. I think I can confidently say – that is so not what colleagues do.

Thanks to social media, I was able to update hordes of people through Twitter (which consequently updated my Friendfeed), Facebook and my blog. The result was an onslaught of well wishes and flowers delivered to the office.

I guess there are a few things that came out of today – I have admittedly become a huge social media geek as I cannot help but update all my social media tools, and I have the most amazing friends that I get the pleasure of working with each day. Thank you to all the SHIFTers who made today so special!

1 Response to “I Work With My Friends, Not My Colleagues”


  1. 1 Todd Defren July 28, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Congratulations, Margaret!!!!


Comments are currently closed.




