A Slice of SHIFT – Amy Lyons

On a Slice of SHIFT this week, we chat with Boston Managing Director Amy Lyons.

Amy LyonsName: Amy Lyons

SHIFT office: Boston

Client focus/title: Managing Director

Hometown: Charlestown

What is the best part of your job? As the Managing Director of the Boston office, I get to work very close with our amazing staff and I’m continually blown away by how creative, talented and committed everyone is.  From our Account Coordinators all the way up to our Vice Presidents, there’s just a sincerity in the work everyone is doing and a real desire to knock it out of the park for our clients and our team.

What is your PR shining moment? When a client reaches out to me to give kudos to someone on their team. Whether it’s for a great hit or a stellar press release, there’s nothing like getting that email from a happy client – it’s truly the best feeling.  Everyone works so hard and sometimes in the grind of the day, you can lose sight of what you’re working towards.  Having a client send a personal note just to let me know that someone on their team did a great job – that’s the best!

What brought you to SHIFT? After 6+ years working in politics down South, I decided it was not only time to return home, but it was also time to take the skills I had learned working with press secretaries, politicians and constituent lobby groups to a new arena.  Truthfully, I fell into technology as a PR focus, but SHIFT just felt like a great place to build a career.  I was impressed that at the time I applied, many of the senior managers had started out where I was starting, and I’m proud to look around now and see that’s still the case.

Whose Tweets/Blog could you not do without? Well, besides Todd Defren’s PRSquared of course (wink, wink ;-)), I’m a fan of Seth Godin and each week I find myself checking stuff out on Mashable and TechCrunch. On the personal side, I am addicted to Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations, and his Crew Blog is a great read – the behind the scenes look at all the great places they visit and food they eat, not to mention the quirks of Bourdain himself, is a trip. If you love to travel, you should definitely check it out!



