A Slice of SHIFT – Reshma Fernandes

From Bombay to Boston to NYC! Check out how Reshma made the journey from India to SHIFT.

Name: Reshma Fernandes

Twitter: @reshma

SHIFT office: NYC

Client focus/title: Consumer, Senior Account Executive

I’m part of the consumer team and my clients are pretty diverse, ranging from consumer tech software and gadgets to an upscale travel resort.

Hometown:

I was born in Bombay, India but for now I call NYC home.

What is the best part of your job?

Being surrounded by sma–ht people [I lived in Boston for 4 years!]. From the clients I interact with on a daily basis to colleagues, reporters, bloggers, it’s great to work with a smart, challenging, fun bunch of people that push you to do your best. No day is ever the same and I can honestly say I learn something new everyday.

What is your PR shining moment?

I’ve made the transition from doing PR in Bombay and Dubai to B2B and now consumer tech at SHIFT, so it’s hard to find a shining moment! I’d say predicting what your client wants and delivering it before you’re asked – every time that happens it’s the best day of my week.

What brought you to SHIFT?

I was newly minted from grad school, had just arrived in Boston and eager to get started on my PR career. Sure I spent my time networking and doing research online but it was actually Todd’s blog that brought me to SHIFT’s Web site. It was great to get a feel for the agency through Todd’s voice on PR-Squared, so I decided to apply.

Whose Tweets/Blog could you not do without?

The best part of my day is I get to read blogs and follow Tweeps whose work I have a natural interest in. So anything travel related from the Practical Traveler blog on the New York Times to Walletpop.com for anything personal finance is interesting and fun. I use Twitter to stay in the know, keep up with the industry and to stay alert for developing stories that can impact my clients. I’m by no means a Twitter addict but for anything PR or marketing related, I usually check out the latest tweets from @briansolis, @sgetgood, @skydiver and of course @badpitch!



