Inside the SHIFT Studio: Rachel Miller

Name: Rachel Miller

Title: Senior Account Manager

SHIFT Home: New York

Hometown: North Miami Beach, FL

How long have you worked at SHIFT? 4+ years

Use four words to describe yourself: Mommy, Chocoholic, Type-A, Optimist

What made you enter the PR industry? When I was entering college, a friend who had already graduated got her first job doing in-house PR.  I loved how her days always sounded busy and different and was intrigued from that moment on.  Didn’t hurt that my alma mater, University of Florida, had one hell of a communications program!

When you Google yourself, what’s the first thing that pops up? A Facebook page for someone that may share my name but does not bear any resemblance to me in the slightest.

What blogs or Web sites do you ready everyday? For the sensible adult part of me – CNN.com, big dailies like the NYTimes; for the geek in me – CNET and some other riveting tech pubs; the domestic part of me LOVES picky-palate.com; and the part of me that needs mindless entertainment frequents Perez Hilton of course.

If there was a cocktail created just for you, what would you name it? The Velvet Hammer – I have been told on more than one occasion that I can lay the smack down in an oh-so-pleasant way.

Tell us something unexpected/surprising about you: I have quite the “extensive” dancing career from being that peppy (read: annoying) girl dancing at Bar/Bat Mitzvahs to a short stint on TV circa 1995.

What do you feel is your greatest personal success in PR thus far? : I would have to say rather than one “shining moment,” I think it’s been my ability to develop a strong rapport with my clients.  It’s so important and mutually beneficial.  Every client is different but I always make it a point to get to know their “soft spot” whether it’s their kids, their love of gourmet food, or their favorite football team.  When you can find something you have in common and make it a part of the conversation, you are able to form a bond that makes working together much nicer.

3 Responses to “Inside the SHIFT Studio: Rachel Miller”


  1. 1 Diddy July 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    You are simply……. the BEST!

  2. 3 Todd Defren August 2, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    We still want to see the MTV tape, Rachel!


Comments are currently closed.




