SHIFTing Focus: Oscartini

Several SHIFT employees moonlight as avid bloggers, whether it be about food, family or in the case of Boston’s own Katie Despres (@kdespres), movies! Following is a recent post from Katie’s personal blog, Oscartini.

From Katie: Oscartini follows my journey as I watch the 82 (and counting!) Academy Award Best Picture winners, along with all things movies!

Who’s In It… To Win It?

With only 155 days until Oscar nominations are announced (but hey, who’s counting?), Tom O’Neil at the L.A. Times’ Gold Derby yesterday posted a poll: Will ‘Inception’ win the Oscar for best picture?

Tom has identified 16 possible best picture nominees, and so far, 72.8% of the voters think Inception will win the big prize. At this point, I absolutely think Inception is a lock to get one of the 10 spots on the Best Picture ballot, but I’m not 100% convinced Christopher Nolan’s blockbuster will take home the statue.

Don’t get me wrong: Inception is awesome, and I’m strongly considering a repeat viewing (though probably a matinee to bring the cost down!), and the time I’ve spent discussing the ending has been a lot more than most movies I’ve seen recently but…I just don’t know. What do you think? Am I totally off? Do you have a favorite for best picture yet?

As pointed out by Dave Karger over at OscarWatch in “The 2011 Oscar Race,” the films that are most expected to get big award nominations typically come out in the last three months of the year (meaning I have a busy October, November and December ahead!)  I know I still have a lot of movies I need to see before I can make a concrete decision, but I do think something unexpected will happen this year!



