Inside the SHIFT studio: Melanie Collins

  1. Name: Melanie L. Collins
  2. Title: Director of Business Development 
  3. SHIFT home: Boston
  4. Hometown: Buffalo, NY
  5. Where did you go to college? Emerson College, Boston, MA
  6. How long have you worked at SHIFT? 7 months
  7. Use four words to describe yourself: Curious, Driven, Energetic and Appreciative
  8. What made you enter the PR industry? When I realized that as a broadcast journalist I’d be one man banding it for less than what it cost to pay for an apartment and a car, I switched to PR and Marketing.  Unfortunately, the grim reality of student loans forced my hand, but I couldn’t be happier about my decision.  It’s allowed me to stay close to family, land in a great place and nest with my new hubby. 
  9. When you Google yourself, what’s the first thing that pops up? Pictures of a scantily clad TV sports broadcaster.  People search for her all the time and when they find my blog they’re probably highly disappointed. It’s pretty darn funny.
  10. What blogs or Web sites do you ready everyday? I’m a news junkie so I read BBJ, Boston.com, CNN, Fox News, CNBC, NYT and USA Today. I also read Mashable, ReadWrite Web and PR Squared, of course. 😉
  11. If there was a cocktail created just for you, what would you name it? Bubbly deliciousness (because it has to have bubbles to be delish).
  12. Tell us something unexpected/surprising about you: I’m writing a children’s book about how to train a puppy which is inspired by my little guy, Rocky.

    "Rocky"

  13. What do you feel is your greatest personal success in PR thus far? Honestly, joining the SHIFT team.  I always knew that I wanted to work at an agency and planned my career path accordingly.  I worked side by side with agency folks everyday in my previous role at Marketwire and the SHIFT clan always stood out as leaders and innovators and they had great energy. I wanted to be a part of that.  And…..voila!

SHIFT on Twitter


