SHIFTing Focus: Mommies Time Out

Several SHIFT employees moonlight as avid bloggers, whether it be about food, movies or in the case of Boston’s Rebecca Passo (@bexpas) family and life as a (really awesome) working mom of three.  Following is a recent post from Rebecca’s personal blog, Mommies Time Out.

Observations of a Road Warrior

I spend on average nearly 3 1/2 hours a day, three days a week in my car commuting to and from work.  Here are a few of my most recent observations as a Road Warrior:

  1. Why do people driving minivans feel the need to promote the members of their family in stick figure caricatures on a bumper sticker? If you’re already driving a minivan, I don’t think any further clarification is necessary. Plus, you are giving all of us other really cool minivan drivers a bad rap. Just sayin.
  2. If you text while driving near me I will roll down my window and publicly humiliate you.
  3. Are you really saving money when you wait in a line at the pump that is 15 cars deep with your engine running just because it’s 5-cents-off Thursday?
  4. The hash browns at Dunkin Donuts are surprisingly delicious.
  5. If anyone knows how to adapt a car plug for my crock pot, I could simmer beef stew while sitting in bumper to bumper traffic on 93 North and have a hot dinner on the table when I walk in.  I’m not kidding. If you know an electrician that can help me pull this off, I might let you in on the patent when this thing hits QVC this holiday season.
  6. When the gaslight in my car goes on, I find the challenge exhilarating to see just how far I can make it.  And with my 5 for 5 record of never once running out, I think I’ve really got it down.
  7. I’m thinking of trying books on tape.  Any suggestions?
  8. Attention Verizon: There is one spot in the tunnel at the end of Storrow Drive where I always drop my calls. If you could have that resolved, I’d greatly appreciate it.
  9. I always give a courtesy wave when someone lets me merge in front of them.  It really pisses me off when other drivers don’t abide by the same etiquette.
  10. Is it gross that I sometimes finish my morning coffee that is still sitting in the cup holder, on my commute home?

Commuting sucks. There is no doubt about it. I sit in my car every day and think about the millions of other things I could be doing if only I had that extra 3 hours. But, as much as I complain about my horrific commute, I’m still the one that feels guilty. Because  let’s face it, while I have a few quiet hours to gab on the phone and listen to music, my poor husband is left getting all three kids dressed, fed and off to daycare, school, etc.  then does it all over again in reverse that night.

Chris, you are the real Warrior.



