My Incredible New Relationship

By Katie Despres (@KDespres)

Everyone knows that feeling of first love; when you just can’t get enough of each other, everything seems new and fresh and you get those butterflies in your stomach whenever you see your object of affection. That’s exactly how I feel—about my new Droid Incredible.

(Image from Verizon)

Yes, I’m in a new relationship with my phone.  But not just any phone.  A SMART phone. Not a dumb phone, like I used to have before this latest upgrade. No, your eyes don’t deceive you; this is my first smartphone. I am a newly converted member of the smartphone carrying, foursquare checking in, Twitter/Facebook/blog updating on-the-go brigade.

And let me tell you: it’s AWESOME.

Why didn’t I make the switch earlier?  No real reason; an aversion to the higher monthly payments, not seeing the real need for one when I bought my last phone (in December of 2008).  That has, of course, changed—you don’t even know how many times I get lost a month, and now I have a navigation system on me at all times.  I can also take awesome pictures on the go, like this one:

Taken at the 10/20 Celtics game from my Droid Incredible!

And the apps?  Even though I’m not using an Apple device, there still is (likely) an app for that (meaning, everything under the sun).  I also have my music, contacts synched with Facebook and a mobile calendar that pulls directly from my Google calendar. All in my pocket, all the time.

So even though I work in tech PR, and am pretty up to speed with the wireless industry and new technologies, I’m basically the anti-early adopter. Though it admittedly did take me a while to jump on the smartphone bandwagon, I can now proudly say that I am most definitely on now, and enjoying the ride.

Any other recent smartphone adopters out there?  What were you waiting for?

3 Responses to “My Incredible New Relationship”


  1. 1 Puneet October 21, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I made the switch to the smartphone (an iPhone) for the first time earlier this year and yes, it made my life a little easier, a little more interesting and little more fun! And definitely more productive, which is honestly, why I bought it in the first place.

    I haven’t gone gaga over my iPhone yet (and am developing a general aversion to anything Apple) but I am in love with the idea of a smartphone. God bless whoever came up with it.

  2. 2 Mike October 21, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Computerphone = Xbox
    Jitterbug = Atari

    Forget you Jitterbug!

    ‘Nuff said.

  3. 3 Danielle Kempe October 22, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I still haven’t switched to a smartphone.

    My husband and I became condo owners at the end of August and I can’t justify adding a hire cell phone bill to our mix of month payments.

    However, my desire for a smartphone is great, so I’m thinking of picking up some more shifts at a part time job to be able afford one.

    I want to be able to check in on Yelp and Foursquare and view twitter from my phone.


Comments are currently closed.



SHIFT on Twitter


