Marathon Monday – What are you going to do?

The 115th Boston Marathon will be held Monday, April 14th with 26,000 registered entrants from 90 countries and 50 states. They will tackle the 26.2 mile course to the Boylston Street finish line. Just as many (or more) spectators show up to cheer on  runners as they make their way through several Boston suburbs, up and over heartbreak hill and round the bend on to Boylston to sprint to the finish line.

Marathon Monday is also known as Patriots’ Day in Massachusetts and yes, it is a holiday, which means the Boston SHIFTers have Monday off. Many Boston SHIFTers either went to school in the area or have lived here for several years and have experienced Marathon Monday many times. Here is how a couple Boston SHIFTers plan to spend their Marathon Monday:

Amanda Grinavich, @agrinavich: “I plan on celebrating the marathon like I have the past four years, when I was at BU. Starting off the morning with breakfast and a mimosa or two and then heading over to Beacon Street to watch the runners and spend the day with friends. You certainly get to meet a lot of people that day.”

Erin Albright, @erinalbright: “This will be my second Marathon Monday in Boston. Last year I spent it studying (thank you grad school).  This year, fellow SHIFTer Jess Hoeler (@jhoeler) and I are going to have our first Marathon Monday experience together.”

Laura Christo, @laurachristo: “I’ve never run theMarathon (I’m not a runner at all!) but it is one of my favorite days of the year in Boston – the energy outside of everyone coming together to cheer on friends and strangers is a moving experience unique to this day. This year I plan to be outside on the route in Brookline with my cowbell and vuvuzela just like any other year – I wouldn’t miss it!”

Kate Binette, @katebinette: “Usually I’ll start the day hanging with friends. We’ll then head down to the marathon route and drink and cheer on the runners. One of the best things about watching the marathon when I was in college was running into EVERYONE you know. We’d park in one place for a bit and hang out with a few people, then move on down the route and run into more friends.  Marathon Monday also always included a trip to Uburger. Once the race is over and all the runners have dispersed, we usually hit a Kenmore-area bar like Cornwalls or Audubon. The picture below is of me and one of my friends jumping in as bandits (for about 20 feet)!”



