Dear SHIFT…

By Leslie Grant

Dear SHIFT,

Nearly one year ago, I made the decision to take a chance on you. At the time, I was living in sunny San Diego working a career in marketing and needed a change. So you’re probably wondering, why you? I mean, you weren’t exactly convenient. To be perfectly honest, I really just needed to get my foot in a door, any door – even if that meant moving across the state for an internship.

Lucky for me, I learned rather quickly (at least once I figured out that awkward mustaches weren’t actually a normal thing around here – thanks, Movember) that you were a pretty good door to have opened.

Over the course of a year, you have taught me everything there is to know and love about life as a 20-something living in SF – from wine tasting in Sonoma to summer Fridays, ice skating in Union Square and team bonding sessions at Sapphire (you know, the cheap dive bar down the street where fellow SHIFTers are known by first name) – I’ve learned that the key to happiness and success in the world of PR is good company and the occasional happy hour.

Oh, and then there’s the work part (how could I forget). I must say, you sure do know how to pick ‘em. Not only are SHIFTers super creative and dedicated PR rockstars, they are also eager to show the newbies how PR is really done. The opportunities to expand my knowledge of the industry and grow in my career have been endless and I’m constantly impressed by everyone’s hard work and most of all, passion.

Looking ahead, I’m excited for many more opportunities to learn and grow in the industry and for all of the fun activities that you have in store. I feel lucky to be a part of the SHIFT experience and can’t wait to see what the next year will bring.

Until next time,

Leslie

5 Responses to “Dear SHIFT…”


  1. 1 Kristofer Konietzko October 26, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    We can’t imagine SHIFT SF without you, Leslie!

  2. 2 Puneet October 26, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Hahaha, love the Movember reference. I remembering being confused by it too!

    P.S. Jealous that you guys in SF can make do with light sweaters and coats on Christmas.

  3. 3 Jen Usher October 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    So glad you made the leap, Leslie! Love this post.

  4. 4 Daniella Klopocki October 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Love this post. I wonder who you were talking about when you said certain SHIFTers are known by name at Sapphire. 🙂

  5. 5 Julie Staadecker (@jstaadecker) October 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    As a new SHIFTer in Boston, I can say the same holds true on our coast. Great post!


Comments are currently closed.



SHIFT on Twitter


