Why We SHIFT

By Sarah Borup  (@SarahBorup)

The rumor is employee engagement is at an all-time low, but those of us at SHIFT likely wouldn’t agree.  In fact, we might scream out in protest.

Although I’ve only been here for about seven months, I’ve already had the opportunity to work out of each of our offices – Boston, New York City and San Francisco.  Looking around, it isn’t too difficult to see that 100 percent of my colleagues are motivated, abuzz with energy and loving life at SHIFT.  Since I couldn’t boil down the many reasons it’s great to work here, I opened up the floor to the entire Company.  As if we need any more reasons to SHIFT, here are a few additions (all about the people, the culture and the perks):THE PEOPLE

For me, it’s all about the people. I’ve been so fortunate to not only get an opportunity to work with some of the smartest and most creative people in the industry, but to also become friends with them. No, really – it’s true! I moved to Boston from Texas, and didn’t know a soul in the area. The SHIFTers from my office have become an incredible support network, both professionally and personally! It’s a priceless asset to have a work environment filled with people you respect and want to hang out with day after day. – Ciri Haugh (@chaugh)

I love the energy at SHIFT – from the first day I stepped in the office I was met with optimism, passion and enthusiasm for knowledge sharing! – Julie Staadecker (@jstaadecker)

Hands down… the people! We are a charismatic group and being surrounded by people who work hard and play hard make it worth it to come in every day. I know a lot of my friends aren’t as close with some of their coworkers or hang out with them outside of work, simply because they aren’t as awesome as us SHIFTers.  Also, I’ve never met a group of people who love horrible TV as much as I do.  – Justine Routhier (@jmassiello)

Speaking of TV – nowhere else will I find people as passionate about surprisingly underappreciated TV shows (The Walking Dead, anyone?) as I am. – Puneet Sandhu (@puneet86)

Cowboy Todd’s surprise appearances around the SF office. – Cathy Summers (@csumm)

Jim Joyal – ‘nuff said. – KT McGraw (@KTMcGraw_HIT)  (Linda Battaglia and Catherine Allen agreed.)

THE CULTURE

3pm stretch sessions, total request live music Fridays, impromptu pizza parties, razor scooters, SHIFT soccer/softball teams, great summer outing/holiday parties?  – Zach Servideo (@zachservideo)

We’re ballsy! – Erin Albright (@erinealbright)

Laughter every day – Lily Albin (@LilyAlbin)

Opportunities at every turn, A very clear career/growth path, belly laughs at every morning meeting, incredible talent everywhere you look, an environment that feels like home – Megan Lane (@BostonPRPro)

Lots of surprises, like Cuatro de Marcho when a Mexican beer cart went ‘round the office and celebration w/ mariachis and sombreros took place.  – Linda Battaglia (@LBattaglia)

THE PERKS

What other company pays for you to try zip lining, in Honduras! Love Cultural Reimbursement and SHIFT! – Kristen Zukowski **SHIFT supports a healthy work-life balance and makes sure the life part is exciting by sponsoring an out-of-work activity of our choice.  Think concert tickets, sports games, plays, day trips. 

I got to use my cultural reimbursement to help get me to Bonnaroo. Seriously. Plus, since we have a NYC office, I shaved 4 hours off the marathon driving session by going down there to work before my trip. Not many companies could ever accommodate that, and it’s just another reason why SHIFT’s a special place. – Andrew Waber (@letspercolate

Ejector Seat Friday! I’m waiting for my moment and the anticipation is INSANE.  – Mallory Cloutier (@Mallory_C) **During the occasional Friday staff meeting, a name gets pulled out of a box and the chosen person is immediately ejected from the workday.  Tough life, huh?

Stocked Peapod cabinets, Ejector Seat Friday. There’s just too many for me. – Catherine Allen (@catherineallen) (Lily Albin is a fan of the 24/7 fully loaded cabinets and fridge as well.)

3 Responses to “Why We SHIFT”


  1. 1 Katie B. (@kteb) December 6, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    I agree full-heartedly with every single reason listed above! Thanks to everyone for making SHIFT such a great place to work!

  2. 2 Todd Defren December 6, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I’m considering this your gift to me and James. Thank you gang.

  3. 3 Cathy December 6, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Was that real Todd or Cowboy Todd?


Comments are currently closed.



SHIFT on Twitter


